Fulford Certification


Phone: 604.398.5230  |  Toll free: 1.888.952.6033

Fax: 604.398.5236  |  Email: info@fulford.ca

September 2016

ASME B30 Crane Safety Standards Turn 100 Years Old!
Celebrating a Century of Safety

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers first sponsored creation of crane safety standards in 1916. What have become know as the B30 standards for cranes have been integral in driving safety through engineering and operational standardization for the past 100 years.

Assessment Tools

Fulford's Assessment tools are based in part on the B30 series of standards governing maintenance, operation and inspection of cranes, material handling systems and rigging hardware. The B30 standards now comprise 28 volumes all under the heading ASME B30 Safety Standard for Cableways, Cranes, Derricks, Hoists, Hooks, Jacks and Slings. In 1916 the standard was initially comprised of:

40 general rules for crane construction, 22 rules for operation, six rules for floor men signalling crane operators and six for repairmen.

The standards have continuously evolved since then - and how far they have can be seen in one of the first rules for operators: "Operators should not eat, smoke or read while on duty."

Tower Cranes & Folding Boom Truck Cranes

B30.3 covers Tower Cranes and was launched in 1975 while Articulating Boom Crane Standards (Folding Boom in Fulford's Certification system) are covered in B30.22 launched in 1987. The last new standard launched was in 2013 - B30.29 Self Erecting Tower Cranes.

Industry Standards

The standards are used by manufacturers, regulators, insurance carriers and certifiers such as ourselves and the National Commission for Certification of Crane Operators in the U.S. to ensure cranes are built and operated to high safety standards agreed to by a broad cross section of industry.

See What's New for more of what's happening.